Thoughts

Goal Update

Back in January I wrote a REALLY ambitious Project Life Goal’s post.  If you would like to go back and check it out you can find it here.  I thought it would be fun to give a brief update on how these goals are going for me and what has changed.

Project Life:
Goal: This year I’d like to keep my album down to one.  That may end up being harder with the smaller size, but I would prefer to have one album per year on the shelf.  Last year ended up being 1.5 albums, but that means an extra spot on the shelf.  I think if I add any 12×12 layouts from this year to the back of the half full album that will work out.  I am excited to have the 9×12 full page layout to play with this year.

How it’s going:  Great!  I’m loving the size and I think I am starting to find a groove where spread come together easily.  I am also getting in the swing of taking photos through the week and I’m almost up to a full spread per week.  It is not going to fit in one album, but I’m loving the look of my pages and am recording some awesome moments.

One Little Word:
Goal: I bought the 6×8 gold & cream album for my OLW project this year.  I have never participated in this project before, so I’m excited for this size and this album.

How it’s going: AMAZING!  I actually cannot believe how much I am enjoying this project and my album documenting it.  Definitely on board for next year!

Week In the Life:
Goal: I really loved Week in the Life last year and I’m excited to do the project again this year.  I’m not sure if I will buy the kit this year, I have a 4×4 album on the shelf that I think will work well for this years Week in the Life.  I’ve never made an album this size so I think it will be a unique challenge. Of course I might see this years WITL products and totally cave, but that is the plan right now.

How it’s going: I ended up doing one of this year’s Day in the Life days in a 4×4 album and absolutely loved it.  I made a mini kit from my supplies and found the project so inspiring.  Then I did 6×12 inserts for my next Day in the Life day and found that size really inspiring as well, so all in all DITL has me 2 for 2 this year and Week ITL has kicked my butt.  I ended up buying the WITL kit with the grey 6×8 stories album and have stalled out on finishing it.  There are a few page protectors that are awkwardly placed and I need to get in there and do some rearranging before I’ll be happy with how it is coming together.

December Daily:
Goal: Definitely on my Project List for next year.  Although right now I don’t want to give it any thought…. too much Christmas in the last little bit!

How it’s going:  So many ideas!  So many realizations about myself and how last year went, but that’s a whole other post at a different time!

Recipe Book:
Goal: I’ve got a great recipe book right now, but it is starting to fall apart and I’d like to update it a little more to the dishes we are currently enjoying as well as pull some of my Pinterest recipes into “real life” physical format so that I don’t always need my iPad when I’m making them.  What I have is currently 6×8 so I will probably keep that size.  I’m also hoping to take some good photographs of our food through the year, and include them here instead of in my Project Life.

How it’s going: Slowly.  I have some things started (dividers and recipes) but it tends to get shoved to the back of my desk.  I might need to give this project a few days of priority to see it come along faster.

Quote Project:
Goal: I’m really excited to keep this series go through the year.  It has been challenging to digitize the handwritten quotes, but I am loving the results and the addition of them into my projects.

How it’s Going:  Haha.  Not.  I still love hand lettering and have been working on that, but uploading them as downloadable quotes hasn’t been on my radar for a couple months now.  I’m not sure if I’m disappointed with myself and how easily I let this goal slide, but I’m ok with where I am now.

 

Goal: I would love to also have the opportunity to participate on a design team.  I don’t know yet how that will play out, but I’m excited to see what opportunities might arise over the year.

How it’s going: I have been extremely lucky to work with two wonderful ladies and their small shops creating projects for them, Elise at Feed Your Craft, and Amie at Little Lamm & Co.  It has been a great learning process and I have really enjoyed the opportunities that I’ve had.

One thought on “Goal Update

  1. You have some amazing goals! I keep meaning to start a recipe book. Though I have purchased the supplies, I’ve never gotten around to photographing the food. Somehow, when dinner arrives, this step gets totally forgotten. Thank you for mentioning the size of your book. It isn’t something I had considered, but a 12×12 would certainly be unmanageable when cooking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

